Richter in Spoleto

Richter in SpoletoA Master Pianist, a Legendary Recital — the first authorized CD release of a remarkable evening with Sviatoslav Richter

MC108 — 1 CD

“There is no question that Sviatoslav Richter was one of the great artists of the 20th century.”
– Terry Barfoot, Musicweb Itnternational

Richter in Spoleto

Sviatoslav Richter: Spoleto, 14 June 1967

  • Catalog Number: MC-108
  • E1 Catalogue Number: MCS-CD-108
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • EAN: 851950001087
  • US Release date: October 18, 2010
Find a retailerDownload from amazon.comDownload from iTunes

It has been more than a decade since the death of Soviet pianist Sviatoslav Richter, but his reputation and fame continues to grow, and his recordings continue to be among the most sought-after classical piano recordings ever issued.

During the 1960s, Richter turned away from the studio and, in partnership with classical labels, began to experiment with live recording. The presence of an audience — and the concealment of microphones, which Richter found uncomfortable even in the studio — gave Richter the freedom to delve even deeper into a daring and sometimes deeply personal interpretive approach to masterpieces of the piano repertoire.

The present recording was made in the early years of Richter’s career as a touring soloist in the West. Originally released on two separate Turnabout LPs, they have since become collector’s items. The present CD release, carefully restored from sources in Vox/Turnabout’s US archive, marks their first official release since the LP era in the best possible sound.

  • First authorized release of Sviatoslav Richter’s legendary Spoleto recital of 14 June 1967, remastered from original archival materials
Franz Joseph Haydn: Piano Sonata No.37 in E Major, HobXVI/22
1 I. Allegro moderato 5:38
2 II. Andante 5:59
3 III. Finale. Tempo di minuet 3:56
Robert Schumann: Noveletten, Op.22
4 No.1 in F Major 5:11
5 No.2 in D Major 5:21
6 Frédéric Chopin: Ballade in g minor, Op.23 9:03

Claude Debussy

Préludes, Livre II
7 1. Brouillards 3:16
8 2. Feuilles Mortes 3:13
9 3. La Puerta Del Vino 3:41
10 4. “Les Fees Sont D’Exquises Danseuses” 2:36
11 5. Bruyeres 2:46
12 6. “General Lavine”-Eccentric 2:22
13 7. La Terrasse Des Audiences Du Clair De Lune Lent 4:27
14 8. Ondine 3:11
15 9. Hommage A S. Pickwick Esq. P.P.M.P.C. 2:32
16 10. Canope 3:01
17 11. Les Tierces Alternees 2:22
18 12. Feux D’Artifice 3:41
Préludes, Livre I
19 9. La sérénade interrompue 2:54

Remastering and restoration: Gene Gaudette
Executive Producer: Christopher Todd Landor