Dame Emma and the Baroque

Musical Concepts has been pleased to be the North American physical and worldwide digital distributor for England’s Griffin Records.  The laudable Griffin Records specializes in choral and organ music from the great cathedrals and abbeys in the United Kingdom as well as early music, often utilizing original period instruments and instrumentation and historical sites across the UK.  We are proud to be partnered with this wonderful label.

Griffin’s latest issue is Baroque Vocal Masterpieces featuring the world-renowned British soprano Dame Emma Kirkby.  She is is one of the world’s foremost specialists in early music, having made over a hundred recordings of repertoire from the pre-Classical eras.  One of England’s finest sopranos, this album features works written by Claudio Monteverdi, Henry Purcell, Johann Sebastian Bach, Jeremiah Clarke, Carlo Graziani, Giovanni Legrenzi, and Giacomo Carissimi.  Dame Emma has been named Artist of the Year by Classic FM Radio and was awarded The Queen’s Medal for Music in 2011.  These are classic recordings, which have never before been released on compact disc, and capture Dame Emma at the height of her talents and acclaim.  Dame Emma is accompanied on this album by organist Robert Jones and the St. Alban’s Chamber Choir under the direction of Richard Stangroom.

Through Musical Concepts, this album is now available globally on compact disc and digital download. Please click on the links below to find this album on Amazon and iTunes!

Complete Track Listing

1. Laudate Dominum
2. Anima mea, cur detineris?
3. Jephte
4. Velut Palma
5. Blest be those Sweet Regions
6. An Evening Hymn
7. Jehovah, quam multi sunt hostes
8. Lobet den Herrn