Alfred Deller: The Complete Vanguard Recordings Volume 1 — Folk Songs and Ballads

Alfred Deller’s revolutionary period interpretations of European folk music in one comprehensive collection

Musical Concepts is pleased to announce the first release in one of the most ambitious early music reissue projects of all time — Alfred Deller: The Complete Vanguard Recordings. The series brings together every recording made by Alfred Deller – as solo countertenor, ensemble member of the Deller Consort, and conductor – for the legendary, enterprising Vanguard record label. These recordings created a sensation with their initial release, and have influenced and inspired three generations of music lovers, from casual listeners to the top tiers of performing artists and scholars.


During the 1950s, Vanguard founder Seymour Solomon and Alfred Deller decided to smash the illusory boundaries between the then-exploding movement for authentic performance practice of early music and the growing interest in folk music. With the LP release of The Three Ravens in 1955, Alfred Deller introduced early music lovers to the beauty of traditional folk music, and established himself as one of the most original “crossover” artists in recording history.

The present collection combines his six recordings of folk music on the “Vanguard Recording Society” label – including the Tavern Songs and Cries of London in their first CD release – with related music recorded for Vanguard’s “Bach Guild” label, including English Lute Songs, which here marks its first appearance on CD.

The present volume combines the contents of ten Vanguard Recording Society LPs from the 1950s and early 1960s:

  • Tavern Songs: Catches and Glees, Volume 1
  • Tavern Songs: Catches and Glees, Volume 2
  • The Cries of London
  • The Three Ravens
  • The Wraggle-Taggle Gypsies
  • Vaughan Williams Folk Song Album
  • English Lute Songs
  • Awake Sweet Love
  • The Cruel Mother
  • The Western Wind